Sweety-Meaty Breakfast

Out of all of the meals in the day, I feel as if breakfast always has the most hype. “It’s the most important meal of the day!” we hear everyone say. And, of course, they’re correct in a way. But we place so much emphasis on the sheer bulk of breakfast in its immense energy requirements, that we tend to overlook its composition.

My usual breakfast consists of cereal, which I contently munch on as I solve the childish riddles on the backs of the boxes. Which one of these shapes is not a Cheerio, eh? Oh, I’ve got it right! I must be such a genius. 

Satisfied with my ability to answer questions that a first grader would be capable of, I silently chuckle to myself. My silly demeanor aside, I was discussing the importance and composition of breakfast.

But from what I’ve seen, the traditional American breakfast is far different than my own. Usually consisting of eggs in any shape, consistency, or form, toast, sausage, bacon, pancakes, waffles, oatmeal, fresh fruit, milk, and orange juice, this meal has enough food to make your head spin. At the saccharine-sweet syrup that is drizzled on pancakes and waffles and the crispy bacon that often laces plates, I like to joke that the traditional American breakfast is either sweety-or-meaty.

But I don’t say this to be mean-spirited. In fact, I am in awe of the sheer variety and ingenuity with which American breakfast is made. Take eggs, for instance. Poached, scrambled, fried, hard-boiled, served via an omelette, the numerous forms the small, golden yolk of an egg is capable of assuming is really a feat of nature. I would even go so far as to say that they are the glorious shape-shifters of food. And an American-styled breakfast ensures that this versatility is employed to its fullest extent.

Speaking of immensely versatile food, how could I go on without even mentioning the potato! From crispy fried, to mushy soft, to buttery baked, to many more, there is virtually no incorrect manner of consuming a potato. Aside from eating one raw, but really. Who would really be so lazy so as to not even attempt to heat the potato before eating it?

Let us briefly digress from potatoes and eggs to appreciate the American-style breakfast as a whole! Oh sweet, thick maple syrup! Oh light, fluffy pancakes! Oh crunchy cereal! [I would also praise the meat, but as I am a vegetarian, I will allow others to do that for me.] Oh scrumptious scrambled eggs!  Oh, sweety-meaty breakfast, what would we do without you?

Leave a Reply

