Movie Madness

Perhaps it is because of my parents, pop culture, society, my friends or an incongruous conglomeration of all of the following, but I love movies.

Those that dislike them  may argue that they are mindless modes of time pass, lacking substance and relevance for all of the hours of screen time they occupy. And to this, I say yes for certain movies. But they can’t all be Oscar worthy- can they?

Expecting that all cinema will resonate with you on a deeply personal level is ignorant at best and a certain recipe for disappointment.

But let me tell you why I am so strongly in favor of movies regardless of what their content might be. First and foremost, movies are a form of artistic expression. At this you might say, “You think the Twilight saga is a form of artistic expression? Maybe you need your eyes checked.”(My sincere apologies if you enjoy Twilight. It’s just not my thing). But I say that movies are captivating stories that take advantage of visual and audial elements.

They take us on extraordinary journeys to places and times that we once thought would be forever out of reach. Upset about the fact that it’s 2015 and we still don’t have flying cars and personal robots? Have no fear! For we have a whole slew of movies with these very futuristic elements as their central theme! With these you can temporarily assuage your sense of loss and disappointment with current technology.

Ever longed to see the epic battles of the Romans but missed the deadline by a couple millenia? In spite of the fact that we are still incapable of time travel, we have movies! You can watch Russell Crowe rise through the ranks of a Roman hierarchy for the sake of familial and national pride in Gladiator (2000)!

In fact, teams of producers, writers, and directors have ensured that we have a film for almost every occasion. Feeling down? How about a comedy! Lost your faith in true love? Why not a classic rom-com? Not enough drama in your life? We have a plethora of uplifting and emotional films that can fill that very void! What’s that…it’s Christmas? Don’t even get me started on the number of classic Christmas films you have to choose from.

And so it is because of the sheer scope and wildly imaginative, diverse, and artistic nature of them, that I love, and appreciate, and respect movies for whatever they are or whoever acts in them. I guess you can call it “Movie Madness”.

11 thoughts on “Movie Madness

    1. Wow, that is a tough question. Er, I like a lot of different types of movies ranging from classic animated Disney, a.k.a. Mulan (so awesome) , to really gritty classics, like Shawshank Redemption and Scarface. “Do I have an all-time-favorite?” I ask myself with both hands pressed to my head. At the moment, I say I don’t really know. All I know is that movies are fantastic.
      Speaking of which, what is your FAVORITE movie?!

      Like

Leave a Reply

