Life as a Coconut

I Am a Rock
The phrase, “I am a rock,” insinuates that the speaker is aloof and separate, preferring to draw strength from himself rather depend on others for support. These individuals are also referred to as quiet islands of strength in their stability and isolation. And while I do find rocky individuals strong and independent, I’d much rather be a coconut.

More than a rock that heavily pulls itself underwater, a young coconut rolls down to the sea and is lifted by the waves. Having the capacity to rely on strong, supportive forces outside itself, the coconut often has great success in reaching its final destination, another shore. While the rock’s solitude and resistance to the gentle currents forces it to sink, the coconut’s buoyancy continuously prevents it from the treacherous depths of the sea.

As a coconut, I believe that it is very important to rely on those around us for emotional support. While keeping yourself afloat in tumultuous seas is a great feat in itself, relying on those around us helps us endure times of immense uncertainty.

If I, for instance, were experiencing anxiety about a significant transition in my life, going to college, I would have two options of dealing with it. A) I could go on long walks with myself in which I would continuously ruminate my worst fears and consequently make them worse. or B) I could discuss my anxieties with a wiser individual who would do well to dispel my fears and put my mind at ease. While I may be exaggerating the curative effects of open discussion, relying on others has certainly done wonders for me.

In spite of my insistence of maintaining an external support system, one must also have a certain amount of intrinsic strength and independence. Take the trusty coconut for instance. Although it depends on the currents to lift it from the depths, the coconut has a hard, protective husk that provides itself with a substantial degree of internal stability. Like the coconut, we too must have a thick skin that is resistant to criticism, deterring winds of change, and uncertainty.

Being a coconut is also beneficial in that it allows for reciprocation. Not only do we rely on others for support and guidance in times of personal distress, but we also keep those same individuals afloat when they themselves are sinking. In this way, we form a strong network amongst ourselves, resistant to the subversive currents of crisis and stress.

In essence, I say kudos to rocks! It’s not easy relying on yourself for support and guidance in difficult times. My personal choice? Life as a coconut.

4 thoughts on “Life as a Coconut

Leave a Reply

