Makeup My Mind

As I was walking through Macy’s today, looking at striking photographs of beautiful women whose faces had been utterly transformed with cosmetics, I was suddenly plagued by the question of makeup.

When I was a bit younger, I was under the impression that makeup was some terrible creation of modern society, a grotesque manifestation of vanity, a way for woman to distort their features to bear semblance to frightening clowns. Indeed, I believed makeup to be a profoundly negative thing.

I used to think that women would become overtly dependent on makeup to the point at which they couldn’t stand their own reflection without it. That they would be constantly standing before the mirror, obsessively perfecting their eyes, noses, mouths, and faces with the use of small brushes. I was certain that the moment I would try on lipstick, makeup would become an sickly addiction for me. And that I could never go back to life without it. Like most of my other childish opinions, my take on makeup was tempered with excessive emotion, drama, and paranoia.

Now, upon greater reflection of the subject and its significance to its users, I take a more ambivalent stance. I have learned that most women view makeup as an instrument for enhancing their features. As a tool of improving the self-worth, self-efficacy, and confidence, makeup can be a tremendously powerful tool indeed.

While one could make the argument that a naturally attractive person would not require cosmetics to enhance her appearance, the subtle use of makeup could veritably increase her self-confidence. Thus, making it beneficial to this particular individual. Therefore, those of us who choose not to use makeup must not point a waggling and judgmental finger at those who do. Like with all other practices we do not engage in, we must treat it with tolerance, understanding, and respect.

As for me, I do not wear makeup on a daily basis because of  highly moralistic reasons, but more because of practical reasons. “Practical reasons?” you may say with an eyebrow raised. And to this I say, yes! I have practical reasons!

For one thing, makeup seems to consume copious amounts of time and painstaking effort for inexperienced individuals like myself. While I am aware that the time required for this ritual would dramatically decrease with practice, I am unwilling to make the effort of beginning this arduous process.

Additionally, when one goes to purchase cosmetics, she is inundated with thousands of possible products. And while a simple, well-informed commercial may quell her anxiety, there are thousands of those as well! Unsure of where to begin, the confused individual settles for lipstick, but to her utmost horror she sees that there are literally hundreds of varieties at her disposal! Seized with indecision, the prospective buyer runs to the nearest candy store for refuge, where every selection is sure to be sweet.

At this point, I think I need to makeup my mind.

11 thoughts on “Makeup My Mind

  1. Great post!! I did an article on Egypt’s history of makeup and found that both women and men wore it back in the day. Their reasons for wearing it though it may have been partially vanity it was for religous and some say even medical reasons due to the harsh climate.

    Me, if I can’t put on my makeup in 5 minutes or less I can’t be bothered. I wore more when I was younger but not to the extent of some I see gracing photos, tv, life. I do think that everyone is entitled to either wear or not to wear as they see fit.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ” ‘Practical reasons?’ you may say with an eyebrow raised.” Now that is a clever pun!

    This is a thought provoking post. I must confess that I feel prettier with makeup. I usually don’t wear it around the house, because my eyes burn a little when I am wearing it.

    I was thinking about some undesirable aspects of wearing makeup just the other day. Once nail polish dries, you can touch it and it stays put, but makeup doesn’t. You find foundation smeared on the inside of your collars, and if you give someone a hug (especially if they are taller than you) you transfer makeup to the shoulder of their shirt or jacket.

    I do love to look at well made up faces, but that aspect can be annoying both for the person wearing the makeup and the person coming into close proximity with the person who is wearing it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I do NOT wear make-up…perhaps, I should! LOL But I feel that I should be accepted as I am and I so tired and weary of having to respond to the sex-object men seem to need and want. I know I would never qualify in any case! LOL Great article! Well written! Thank you for your recent visit to my blog. Luckily, I went through the spam before deleting it and I found YOU there…and decided to take a chance and see IF your blog was NOT spam. I am so glad I did! You are a very thoughtful writer! Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. From what I can see from your profile picture, you definitely don’t have to wear makeup. 😀 And I completely agree with your view on being accepted as you are. We need not change ourselves for the approval of others as long as we accept ourselves. And thank you for taking the time to read what I have to say! (I’m also really glad you saved me from your spam file!)

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Very interesting. I have long thought that (some? many? most?) women wear too much makeup, and I can’t help but find cosmetics commercials amusing that pitch the “natural look” of their products. Wouldn’t the “natural look” be no makeup at all?

    One of my favorite quotes is this: “The beauty industry is the beast.” -Katherine Dodds

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Probably most. I also agree with your assumption on the whole “natural” look. But, see, they want to wear makeup while making it seem as though they’re NOT wearing makeup. That’s where the whole natural thing comes into play. If that makes any sense (which it doesn’t). Awesome quote. Really insightful. And also thanks for reading my work!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

