Wounded Childhood Ego

Brilliant Disguise

Ever since I was little, rushing to place my belongings in my cubby and brushing shoulders with my friends, I’ve always been exceedingly gullible. Because of my trusting and easily fooled nature, my peers in elementary school were eager to capitalize on the shining opportunity. Indeed, countless times I have fallen victim to the classic “Gullible on the ceiling” trick.

“Hey, Anusha! Look, there’s gullible written on the ceiling!”

Having suffered the humiliation before, I cross my arms and look straight ahead.

“No, there isn’t. This is just a trick.”

“No, no, Anusha!” my friends’ little voices insist.

“This time we really mean it! In fact, if you don’t look up now, you’ll look even more silly than you did last time.”

At this point, my childish curiosity is threatening to consume me alive. What if there really is something up there? What if it looks really cool, and I’ll never get to see it? I imagined “gullible” written in the colorful and intricate graffiti style that I had seen under bridges. And if I don’t look now, I’ll be a bigger fool than I was before. And I can’t have that, now can I?  Cringing at the idea of missing an opportunity to see something awesome because of my skepticism, I quickly look up.

And my clever readers, what do you think young, impressionable Anusha sees? Nothing. That’s right, nothing. Except for the bare tile of your typical elementary school, Anusha sees no intricate lettering spelling “gullible” written across the ceiling.

As I try to swallow the bitter taste of defeat, I hear my friends giggling beside me.

“Honestly, A…Anusha. When will you ever l…learn?” one of them sputters between her fits of laughter.

“Yeah, the word means easily fooled” an intelligent one cries.

Abashed and aware of the fact that I have been bested,  I quietly nod the affirmation of my foolishness. Like the numerous times before, I silently vow to never fall for their tricks again. Perhaps one day I shall be the trickster and earn their undying respect! 

Having repaired the injuries my little ego had sustained, I straighten up and leave for the swing set outside. After all, it’s recess; I can do what I want.

Looking back on it, I am not bitterly angry at the childish trickery of my companions or at my wounded childhood ego. I actually think it’s quite funny. In fact, if you were to tell me that “gullible” were written on the ceiling right now, I might even look up.

8 thoughts on “Wounded Childhood Ego

  1. sleepygate2013

    Oh, how I wish children of today had this resilience. Far too often, this play is now considered bullying. Instead, as parents, we need to teach children the humor in this type of, what you call, tom-foolery.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Agreed! While I certainly didn’t enjoy it at the time, my playground experience has taught me how to see the best in every situation and grow stronger as an individual. And thank you for your awesome feedback!

      Like

Leave a Reply

