Tattoo Taboo

Today we shall discuss the tattoo taboo. Whenever we come across heavily tattooed individuals, we tend to perceive them as being trashy, psychotic, or affiliated with some sort of criminal activity. From the moment these individuals have made the decision to inscribe something permanently in their flesh, they have condemned themselves to a life of public scrutiny and judgement (Assuming that the tattoos are in a visible location).

But I say, enough. Who are we to judge individuals solely on the basis of appearance? Can we say that we are veritably perfect ourselves? How are we to make immediate assessments of personality based on the physical appearance of someone’s skin? Does that not reek of injustice? Of intolerance?

At the same time, I’m not saying that we all should get tattoos. I’m saying that we should have the freedom to choose. And that those who choose to get them should not be harassed or harshly reprimanded for having them.

Perhaps someone could be under the impression that all bodily markings are incongruous or ugly. And that whoever has them will sorely regret the decision of their youth when they are older and wiser.

In terms of this individual’s perception that all tattoos are ugly, this is merely an opinion. Not a fact. And this particular view is certainly not shared by everyone. As for the second point, that the tattooed individuals will regret their decision in the future, this is also a broad assumption. This might be the case for some individuals, but we can’t say that it applies to everyone. Not without being fallacious and factually incorrect.

Let us also remind ourselves that we are scornfully assessing heavily tattooed individuals long before they actually open their mouths! We don’t know the story behind the tattoo. We don’t know if it’s a lifelong commemoration of a friend or family member. We don’t know if it’s a symbol to indicate a difficult period in that person’s life. And even if the tattoo does not possess immense personal value, we have no right to assess the morality of a person solely on the basis of their physical appearance.

Essentially, we must treat heavily tattooed persons just as we would anyone else. With respect, open-mindedness, and tolerance if you disagree with their life choices. Ultimately, I know that we will never stop forming snap judgments about individuals that we come across on a daily basis. I’m just asking that we also take that person’s veritable character into account. So that we have a better picture of the person as a whole. So that we’re not just looking at a tattoo on a person. We’re looking at a person with a tattoo.
Tattoo….You?

12 thoughts on “Tattoo Taboo

  1. I’ve found that since I now have a disability I’m looked upon differently. Before I began usng my white cane and even now no one would be able to tell that I’m legally blind. I hear all the time “you don’t look blind” and what that says to me is that blind people or anyone for that matter have to fit within other’s mold for how they believe we should appear or act. I love how you say “We’re looking at a person with a tattoo” putting emphasis on the individual and not what is secondary to their personhood. Very good read!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, from what I can tell from your cover photo, you’re beautiful! And I think you’re incredibly strong for constantly dealing with infuriating societal judgement. Thank you for the compliment! I really appreciate the fact that you’ve taken the time to read what I have to say. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Now it’s my turn to thank you for the compliment.

        Regarding societal judgement, unless there is a miraculous turnaround I think all of us will deal with some form of judgement “you can’t please all of the people…” We just have to keep on putting our positive messages out there in the hopes that change will someday come.

        I really enjoy reading your posts. You are so personable and it shows in your writing. I really appreciate your humorous and serious side.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. FCM

    I don”t have any, but there was one time where if I had had one more glass of wine I’d be wearing a tattoo. People with tattoo’s don’t bother me, but my mind does jump to the fact that they’re wearing thousands of dollars of ink and they don’t wash off. Removal is also costly. I’d have to think long and hard on it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

